The Ifs not taken.

girl-on-beach

For once

I am glad.Firework happy.

for the “Ifs” not taken.

If ever we happened,

you and I

we’d have ended in explosions

somewhere in between

and lost

to each other’s worlds.

Or I’d  have held pieces

of your heart; I’ve broken

and blown them in the wind,

like forgotten prayers.

We would have been

a stop around the corner,

a shelter from a rain.

too brief

even for us

to remember.

For  I’d have left

again and again

for him who felt

a little more than home.

Leave a Reply

