My pruned soul

tree

They planted me

where they thought was best,

a calm quiet corner

a little to the West.

 

They watered me,

let Sunshine reach,

they pruned my soul

and built a fence.

 

My branches spread.

My roots would grow,

unseen by them,

my thoughts would sow.

 

One Spring day,

I’ll be in full bloom,

my roots spread

confined no more.

 

And when one day,

When I choose to seek,

the lengths of skies,

I’d not get to speak.

 

They would come by

this time with a frown

Cold eyes dry

and Axe me down.

2 thoughts on “My pruned soul

Leave a Reply

